This Section

Area Housing Officers

Confidential Advice Service

If you would like to discuss your housing options, please make an appointment with your Area Housing Officer.


AreaContactOffice No.Mobile No.
Wexford Aisling Doyle (053) 9196462 (087) 6381466
Enniscorthy Joan Murphy (053) 9232328 (087) 8391417
New Ross Mary Dunphy 053-9196700 (087) 8196095
Gorey Fiona Brennan (053) 9483811 (087) 8391419

Estate Management

The Area Housing Officers promote greater participation by occupiers of the 93 Local Authority housing estates in the County in the management and maintenance of their own estates. The Council encourages wider local participation and commitment to tenant participation, through training and capacity building.

The Council grant-aided residents groups in order to encourage their work in such areas as committee skills, training and budgeting. Also facilitated was the purchase of machinery and equipment for maintenance and improvement of amenity areas, general estate development including the construction of boundary walls, planting of trees and shrubs and the painting of houses.

Tenant Participation Initiatives

The Area Housing Officers promote participation through the following initiatives:

  • Residents Associations: putting in place structures that allow community decision making to develop. 80 residents associations County-wide in 2002.
  • Presence: visiting estates and attending residents association meetings on a regular basis.
  • Assistance: facilitating groups to seek assistance from other government, non-government and voluntary bodies.
  • Housing Services: co-ordinating and monitoring the delivery of all Housing Section services, and liasing with other sections in relation to the delivery of their services.
  • Training: organising and facilitating pre-tenancy training courses for prospective tenants.
  • Forum: establishing a County-wide Residents Forum.
  • Handbook: preparing a tenants handbook.
  • Anti-Social Behaviour: taking serious and proactive action against anti-social behaviour.

Further details available from:

Housing Department
Wexford County Council
Newtown Road

Tel. (053) 9196274 (Reception)

Edit Direct Edit
Search Icon